Feb 8-9, 2016: 20th Annual Symposium (in Brussels)

Feb 8-9, 2016: 20th Annual Symposium (in Brussels)

The 20th Annual Symposium of the Benelux Chapter of the IEEE Photonics Society took place at the Université Libre de Bruxelles on the 8th and 9th of February 2016.

This edition was very special for two reasons:

On the symposium, we welcomed 8 invited speakers:

  • Prof. Dr. Diana Huffaker, University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), USA
    Title: Patterned III-V Nanopillars: A platform for integrated optoelectronic devices”
  • Dr. Marianna Pantouvaki, IMEC, Belgium
    Title: “Beyond silicon CMOS photonics: a technology for future short distance system interconnects”
  • Prof. Dr Sylvie Lebrun, Université Paris Sud, France
    Title: “Wavelength converters for biophotonic applications”
  • Prof. Dr Hugues de Riedmatten, ICFO, Spain
    Title: “Photonic Quantum Memories for Quantum Information Networks”
  • Prof. Dr Brian Culshaw, Strathclyde Engineering Faculty, Glasgow, UK
    Title: “Optical fibre sensing – where might it lead?
  • Prof. Dr Michel Joindot, ENSSAT, France
    Title: “Optical Communications: a key technology for telecommunication networks. History, present and possible future
  • Prof. Dr Cees Ronda, Philips, Germany
    Title: “Lighting research: a historical perspective”
  • Prof. Dr Orazio Svelto, Polytechnic Institute Milan, Italy
    Title: “The laser: a bright solution looking for a problem

The winners of the poster prize were Cedric Noordam from the MESA+ Institute for nanotechnology, University of Twente and Netsanet Tessema of COBRA Research Institute of Eindhoven University of Technology. Congratulations!

Poster Cedric Noordam Poster Netsanet Tessema
Cedric Noordam Netsanet Tessema